Klamath County Board of Commissioners

Klamath County Commissioners

Donnie Boyd

Kelley Minty Morris

Derrick DeGroot
Vice Chair

Serving our Citizens through Stewardship

The Klamath County Board of Commissioners consists of three (3) elected individuals. Each full-time non-partisan term is for four (4) years and is paid a salary established by the Budget Committee. The Board oversees all county activities with the exception of the Sheriff and the District Attorney. The position of board chairman is by appointment from the entire board. The term of the chairman is one (1) year and rotates among the commissioners. A quorum of two (2) constitutes a majority vote and is necessary to decide any questions that come before the Board.

The Klamath County Board of Commissioners adopted the practice of making liaison assignments to each board member. These assignments allocate various county departments, boards and commissions, advisory committees, intergovernmental agencies and outside organizations to individual commissioners. These assignments however, are limited in scope and responsibility for the authority of the board is collective on both policy and administrative matters. The liaison role involves communication and advice, however final decisions can be made only by the governing board as a whole. The Board supervises the various Department Heads which are appointed positions.

The Commissioner's Office maintains an "open door policy" and encourages citizens to stop by and share their concerns and comments on any issue relating to Klamath County.

Regular Board meetings are usually scheduled each Tuesday at 8:30 a.m. and every fourth Tuesday at 5:00p.m. in Room 219 of the Government Center.

Commissioner Support Staff

Sandra Cox - Administrative Manager

Haley Huffman - Administrative Assistant

305 Main Street
Klamath Falls, OR 97601
(541) 883-5100
(800) 377-6091 Toll Free
(541) 883-5163 Fax
email: bocc@klamathcounty.org